Table of contents:
- Great unity of all areas of art
- Innovator and founder
- Building and opening
- Government ownership
- Nazi power
- Risen from the ruins
- Travel and price of excursions
The cultural capital of Russia - St. Petersburg - is almost always associated with numerous museums, monuments, drawbridges, canals and night-long twilight, which is commonly called white nights. However, in addition to the cultural and natural we alth located within the city, there are also beauties and architectural ensembles located in the suburbs. Tsarskoye Selo, Gatchina, Vasilyevsky Island, Pushkin and many other places surrounding St. Petersburg are an indisputable and very valuable part of the history of not only the cultural capital, but the whole country as a whole.
I would like to stop at one of these suburbs, where all tourist groups tend to get in the warm season. This is Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg. Photos of this delightful place are often found on spreads of world magazines about culture, art and architecture. However, not only tourists, but also the residents of the city themselves are happy to spend weekends in this place.
Great unity of all areas of art
“Capital of Fountains” and Peterhof – this is how the Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg is also called. On hisThe territory has a delightful park ensemble, a huge number of statues of ancient heroes made of gilding and marble, and, of course, numerous fountains. All this, combined with lush greenery, turns the suburb of the cultural capital into the most attractive sightseeing place for tourists.
Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg is known throughout the world. It acquired its current name after 1944. Prior to that, this ensemble was called Peterhof. The palace and park group is one of the greatest achievements of Russian national culture. It is worth noting that architectural, cultural, sculptural and engineering solutions are harmoniously combined here. This place is located on the coast of the Gulf of Finland, thirty kilometers from the city, in a village called Peterhof.
Innovator and founder
Not only the park group itself is interesting, but also the history of its origin. The Peterhof Museum in St. Petersburg was built in the early eighteenth century. He became a kind of witness to Russia's victory in the Northern War and its access to the B altic Sea. The founder of the idea of creating a palace and park ensemble is the Tsar and Emperor Peter I. His innovative ideas were famous all over the world. Thanks to him, the country has many monuments of history and culture. It was Peter the Great who made the artistic decisions and designs for the design of the ensemble.
Building and opening
In 1705, Peter I built the so-called travel mansions on the Gulf of Finland. Their appearance laid the foundation for the birth of the "Capital of Fountains". The first brick in the construction of the summer front residence was laid in 1714. And its opening took place nine years later - in 1723. During this time, the Upper Garden and the Lower Park, the main elements of the Grand Cascade, the Grand Palace and the Monplaisir Palace were erected. Builders, architects, engineers, gardeners and many other specialists have accomplished a huge feat by erecting a monumental group of unprecedented beauty in a rather short period of time. To supply the fountains of the park ensemble, a special water conduit system was built, based on storage ponds. The author of this project is engineer Vasily Tuvolkov. The main feature of the operation of the water system of Petrodvorets is the complete absence of any pressure or pumping elements. The movement of the liquid is due to the difference in levels at which the fountains and storages are located.
Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg owes its appearance to thousands of mercenary workers, serfs, craftsmen from all over the country. Casters, jewelers, painters, sculptors and other creators put a piece of their soul into the creation of the ensemble. Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg continued its development for another two centuries. New monuments appeared, the first elements of the palace and park group were updated and restored.
In the mid-fifties of the 18th century, various princely and royal residences began to appear around the complex, among which Znamenka, Alexandria, the English Park and Own Dacha stood out. The February Revolution of 1917 brought changes not only to the political, but also to the cultural development of the country. Thus, many monuments of art became state property. This fate did not bypass the Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg. Fountains, ponds, buildings and structures have all become museum pieces.
The park ensemble went through great difficulties during the Great Patriotic War. The sudden invasion of fascist troops was a shock to the government and the civilian population. It was ordered to evacuate all possible valuables from Petrodvorets as soon as possible. Monumental works of art, if possible, were hidden in the ground. However, not all were saved. On September 23, enemy troops occupied Peterhof. For more than two years, the historical heritage was under the rule of the Nazis. The Grand and English Palaces, the Grand Cascade, Marley - all this turned into ruins. The Hermitage and Monplaisir suffered to a lesser extent. Every estate was plundered, magnificent parks were cut down, hydraulic structures were blown up. That which had been labored for two centuries perished. After the retreat of the Nazi groups, Peterhof did not exist as a monument of history and culture.
Risen from the ruins
BIn 1944 the ensemble was renamed. With the new name, the new life of Petrodvorets began. Talented restorers have recreated the former splendor. One of the greatest monuments of art today is Petrodvorets in St. Petersburg. Tours are held both in the Grand Palace and in the Lower Park, as well as in the area where the fountain group is located.
Travel and price of excursions
Ticket prices vary by age, benefits and nationality. For foreign tourists, the price of an adult ticket is 550 rubles (for visiting the Grand Palace) and 500 rubles (Lower Park and fountains). This is for 150 and 100 rubles. more than for Russian residents. Excursions to the Grand Palace are held six days a week, except Mondays. Every last Tuesday of the month is also a day off. You can visit this place from 10:30 to 18:00. However, keep in mind that the box office closes at 17:00.
Fountains work only in the warm season. As a rule, the season starts in May and ends in September. On weekdays, you can visit the Lower Park and fountains from 9:00 to 19:00, and on weekends the walk increases by an hour.
To enjoy the magnificent beauty and sophistication of the historical complex, to see amazing sculptures and stunning fountains, to touch the art of the 18th century with benevolent generosity allows Peterhof in St. Petersburg. The address where the ensemble is located is easy to remember: st. Razvodnaya, 2. You can get here by electric train, bus, shuttletaxi.