2023 Author: Harold Hamphrey | [email protected]. Last modified: 2023-05-22 04:47
This place is well known and loved by many residents of the Ural capital. From here, from the point where the Historical Square is located, Yekaterinburg began. But it was founded not at all like a city in the usual sense. In the spring of 1723, by decree of Peter the Great, a plant for the smelting of cast iron and iron was laid on this site. The growing Russian state needed metal for cannons and for many other things.
What the Historic Square looks like today
Indigenous inhabitants of the Ural capital most often call this place slightly familiar - "Plotinka". This name comes from the dam that blocks the Iset River and forms the City Pond. This is the oldest hydraulic structure erected in the same distant 1723, from which the age of Yekaterinburg is calculated. Its purpose was quite utilitarian, it provided the metallurgical plant with water. But this is in the past, cast iron has not been smelted at this place for a long time, and the City Pond adorns the Historical Square. Citizens love to walk here and spend their free time. This place became a pedestrian zone at the behest of architects and city officials.authorities. A lot of work had to be done to bring this place into a civilized form. The historical square, the total area of which exceeds 8 hectares, spreads along both banks of the Iset. The territory is planned symmetrically into museum and memorial zones. On the right bank, in the area of the retaining wall, there is a kind of "Rock Garden". This is a permanent exhibition of Ural minerals. The open-air exposition allows you to get acquainted with the natural and geological riches of the Urals. Monolithic blocks of granite, dolomite and marble were brought to the Historical Square from different places in the Ural region.
And on the left bank of the Iset there is a museum zone. It is based on the buildings and structures left from the old Yekaterinburg. Here is the equipment that worked at the Ural enterprises in the nineteenth century. The fate of the surviving buildings of the old metallurgical plant, the very one from which Yekaterinburg began, turned out to be interesting. It now houses the Museum of Fine Arts and exposition of the Museum of Local Lore. And from the old water tower turned out to be quite an interesting Museum of Blacksmithing, the level of which has always been famous for local craftsmen. There are also monuments to two famous Ural writers - P. P. Bazhov and D. N. Mamin-Sibiryak. Among other things, the Historical Square is a traditional venue for citywide events, folk festivals and holidays. They pass on both banks of the Iset.
How to find the Historical Square. Yekaterinburg city map
If you are in the capital of the Urals for the first time, then finding this place will not be difficult. To do this, just look at the map of the city. At this point, the City Pond ends abruptly in a straight line. This is the same "Plotinka", with the construction of which the history of Yekaterinburg began. From the train station, you can walk here at a leisurely pace in half an hour.