Once upon a time, the street was called the Kamennoostrovsky road. At that time, one could get to Kamenny Island along Bolshoy Prospekt across the Tuchkov Bridge. The Kamennoostrovsky road received the status of a prospectus in 1802. The construction of the bridge connecting Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt with the center led to the rapid development of the area. The avenue becomes the busiest street in the city.
In 1903, with the construction of the Trinity Bridge, the area began to have good transport accessibility. At this time, beautiful houses are being built here according to the projects of famous architects, parks are being laid, sidewalks are being paved, water supply and sewerage are being laid. Gradually, the area becomes prestigious and attractive to influential and we althy people of that time.
Buildings on the avenue are decorated with numerous corner towers topped with spiers and domes. Decorative elements in the form of balcony railings, gates and fences emphasize the originality of one of the most beautiful city avenues. Famous architects worked on the construction of unique houses: Benoit, Lansere, Lindval, Shchuko.
Kamennoostrovsky prospect was formed in many stages.Initially, the highway was built from separate segments. The streets in St. Petersburg, among which was the Kamennoostrovsky road, were first shown on a city map in 1738. It also reflects the first name of the avenue - Bolshaya Ruzheinaya Street. In the period from 1771 to 1799, a part of the future avenue became known as the road to Kamenny Island. Since 1822, the name of the street began to appear on the map of St. Petersburg - Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt, which did not refer to the entire street, but only to its part near Kamenny Island. Since 1867, the entire route has been called the avenue. The plots that were located along the avenue belonged to merchants, petty bourgeois and retired officers. In the St. Petersburg press, Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt was called the "Eliseevsky Fields of St. Petersburg." It even began to be called a small part of Paris. At the end of the 19th century, the avenue gradually began to be built up with stone buildings. In 1870, the tram line was laid.
Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt is built up with assignments made in a wide variety of architectural styles: classicism, modern, neoclassicism. Since 1918, most of the avenue to the Malaya Nevka River has been called Krasnye Zor Street.
After the death of S.M. Kirov, who lived on the street. Red Dawns in the house number 26, in 1934 the avenue became Kirovsky. In 1935, a large-scale reconstruction was carried out - obsolete buildings were demolished, public gardens were created on the embankment. In October 1991, the avenue was given back its historical name.
Kamennoostrovsky pr. and today is one of the most beautifulcity highways. This avenue is distinguished by its beautiful and majestic view. Vyazemsky and Lopukhinsky gardens are located here, as well as the Church of the Nativity with a large park with access to Bolshaya Nevka.
The history of the famous highway is very closely connected with the stories of celebrities from different cultural eras. S.M. Kirov, S.Yu. Witte, the artist A.I. Raikin, the world-famous ballerina Kshesinskaya lived here. The most notable building on the avenue is the House with Towers. Earlier in this house there was a cinema, later a studio of the Leningrad television and the Theater "Experience". Since 1996, this house has housed the Andrei Mironov Russian Enterprise Theater.