Île de la Dominique. Commonwe alth de la Dominique

Table des matières:

Île de la Dominique. Commonwe alth de la Dominique
Île de la Dominique. Commonwe alth de la Dominique
Anonim

La Dominique est associée à une sorte de confusion géographique. Beaucoup le prennent pour la république antillaise du même nom. Notre article vise à clarifier cette question. Les trois objets politiques et géographiques sont situés dans la mer des Caraïbes. Mais c'est là que s'arrête la similitude. La République dominicaine occupe la partie orientale de l'île assez grande d'Haïti. Elle est située dans l'archipel des Grandes Antilles. Mais le Commonwe alth de la Dominique occupe une île entière, quoique petite. C'est un état complètement différent, avec son propre gouvernement, sa propre monnaie et son histoire. Géographiquement, la Dominique appartient au groupe des Petites Antilles dans les Caraïbes. En termes de population et de territoire modeste, le pays est considéré comme un État nain. Le secteur touristique de l'économie ne fait que prendre de l'ampleur et est jusqu'à présent loin derrière la République dominicaine promue. Mais le Commonwe alth a un grand avenir. Le pays est souvent appelé "l'île nature des Caraïbes", un clin d'œil à la nature vierge du paysage.

île de la dominique

Géographie

La Dominique est à peine visible sur la carte du monde. Sa superficie n'est que de 754kilomètres carrés. Essayons de le trouver sur la carte. Les îles des Petites Antilles (également appelées les îles du Vent) s'étendent sur une bande étroite du nord au sud, délimitant les frontières orientales de la mer des Caraïbes en arc de cercle. Cet archipel comprend de nombreux états nains, tels que Saint Martin (Saint Martin), Antigua et Barbuda, Grenade. La Dominique est située approximativement au centre de ce groupe d'îles. Il borde la Guadeloupe au nord-ouest et la Martinique au sud-est. Les Petites Antilles sont formées par l'activité volcanique. Parmi eux, la Dominique est la plus jeune. Mais il n'y a pas de volcans actifs sur l'île. Seuls les sources chaudes et les geysers indiquent que les intestins ne se sont pas encore calmés. Le point culminant est le volcan éteint Diabloten (1447 mètres d' altitude). Cette île montagneuse abrite le deuxième plus grand lac toujours en ébullition au monde.

L'île de la Dominique sur la carte

Climat

L'île de la Dominique est située à une quinzaine de degrés de latitude nord. Et parce que le climat y est humide, tropical. La température de l'air ici fluctue tout au long de l'année dans la plage de +25 … + 27 degrés. A l'ouest de l'île, près de la mer, on trouve des zones relativement sèches. Mais dans la majeure partie de la Dominique, il pleut souvent. Il y a deux saisons distinctes. De novembre à mars, le temps est excellent. Les averses, si elles le font, sont de courte durée et les précipitations tombent la nuit. Puis c'est la saison touristique sur l'île. Mais de juillet à septembre il vaut mieux s'abstenir de se rendre à la Dominique. L'île est actuellement dans la zonel'action des ouragans. Pas plus tard qu'en août 2015, le terrible typhon Erica a frappé la Dominique, repoussant le pays de vingt ans en arrière dans son développement. La nature de l'île est incroyablement belle. La région montagneuse est recouverte d'une jungle luxuriante. Près de la mer, on trouve des plages de sable volcanique doré ou noir. Les forêts tropicales abritent de nombreuses espèces végétales et animales que l'on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs dans le monde. La zone aquatique au large de la Dominique regorge de créatures vivantes. Par conséquent, l'île est attrayante pour sa pêche en mer.

Histoire de la Dominique

Histoire de la Dominique

Quand Christophe Colomb découvrit cette île au monde, c'était le 3 novembre 1493, un dimanche. Par conséquent, le grand navigateur a nommé la région terrestre en fonction du jour de la semaine (du mot latin Dominicus). Après cela, l'île de la Dominique a été oubliée des Européens pendant plus de cent ans. En 1635, la France revendiquait ce territoire. Mais vingt-cinq ans plus tard, l'île est laissée à la disposition des Indiens Caraïbes. Mais l'influence française est restée. Aux termes de la paix de Paris, signée en 1763, l'île est cédée à la Grande-Bretagne. La population sympathisa avec les Français et, en 1778, ils tentèrent de rendre cette colonie. Mais en 1805, la Dominique est officiellement devenue une partie du patrimoine britannique. L'esclavage a été aboli dans toutes les colonies du Royaume-Uni en 1834. Depuis que l'île a été colonisée de force par des immigrants d'Afrique, la Dominique est devenue le premier territoire où une majorité négroïde était représentée au gouvernement. De 1958 à 1962, l'île faisait partie de la Fédération des Antilles. CommentL'État indépendant de la Dominique est apparu sur la carte politique du monde le 3 novembre 1978. Cette journée est célébrée comme une fête nationale.

république de dominique

Structure politique moderne et symboles étatiques

La forme de gouvernement est une république parlementaire. La Dominique est gouvernée par un président, qui est élu par le Parlement, et un premier ministre. Actuellement, ce sont Charles Savarin et Roosevelt Skerrit. L'hymne de la Dominique commence par les mots "Île de beauté et de splendeur". La devise de l'État est la phrase en patois: « Après Dieu, nous aimons la Terre ». Le Commonwe alth de la Dominique a un très beau drapeau. Sur un champ vert (la couleur de la jungle) se trouve un perroquet Sisseru. Cet oiseau, aussi appelé amazone impériale, ne vit que sur l'île de la Dominique et nulle part ailleurs. Cette endémique orne également les armoiries de la république parlementaire appelée Dominique. La monnaie du pays est le dollar des Caraïbes orientales. Il est cité par rapport à l'Américain environ comme un à deux et demi. Le pays est administrativement divisé en paroisses. Tous portent le nom de saints (ce qui reflète la grande autorité de l'Église catholique romaine sur l'île). Il y a dix paroisses au total: David, Andrew, George, John, Joseph, Mark, Luke, Paul, Patrick et Peter.

île des caraïbes dominique

Population

L'île de la Dominique abrite 73 607 personnes - la grande majorité sont des descendants éloignés d'Africains. Les aborigènes - Indiens-Caraïbes - représentent moins de trois pour cent de la population totale. Il y a encore moins d'Européens blancs - 0,8 %. État de la Dominique -Urbain. Environ soixante-dix pour cent de la population vit dans les villes. Bien que le bien-être du pays dépende en grande partie du succès de l'agriculture. La capitale du pays est Roseau. Ce n'est pas du tout une métropole, même si c'est la plus grande ville de l'île. Sa population n'est que de dix-huit mille personnes. Les habitants de l'île vivent pour la plupart longtemps: 80 ans - femmes, 74 ans - hommes. La densité de population est de 94 habitants au kilomètre carré. L'anglais est reconnu comme la langue officielle de l'État. A la campagne, on parle patois. C'est un dialecte local basé sur la langue française.

État de la Dominique

Culture

L'île caribéenne de la Dominique est un chaudron ethnique dans lequel coexistent des représentants de divers groupes ethniques. Bien que, lorsque les Européens sont arrivés sur ces rives, seules deux tribus y vivaient - les Kalinago et les Arawaks. Maintenant, la population est très diversifiée, et cela affecte la culture locale. Danse et musique - pas un seul événement plus ou moins important dans le pays ne peut s'en passer. C'est pourquoi la Dominique est devenue le théâtre de nombreux festivals. Ainsi, depuis 1997, une semaine de musique créole s'y tient chaque année. De plus, un touriste qui a visité cette île a simplement besoin d'essayer les plats de la cuisine locale. Il s'agit principalement de viande (généralement de la volaille, mais peut aussi être de l'agneau ou du bœuf) avec une sauce très épicée. En dessert, des mélanges à base de fruits sont servis.

île des caraïbes dominique

Tourisme

L'épine dorsale de l'économie du Commonwe alth dominicain est la culture de la banane,cacao, cocotiers, tabac, agrumes et mangues. Le tourisme est la deuxième industrie importante. Il prend de l'ampleur chaque année. L'aéroport international de Melville Hall opère près de la capitale de Roseau. Mais les cartes bancaires ne sont encore acceptées que dans la capitale et les stations balnéaires de la côte ouest. Les touristes visitent l'île principalement en hiver. La plupart des gens sont attirés par les belles plages de sable noir et fin et la mer des Caraïbes azur. Du côté est, l'île de la Dominique est baignée par les eaux de l'océan Atlantique. Par conséquent, les safers viennent également ici. La nature ici est incroyablement belle. Il y a beaucoup d'oiseaux exotiques dans les forêts, des cascades et des ruisseaux cristallins dévalent des montagnes. La chaleur est adoucie par les alizés soufflant constamment du nord-est. Pour les citoyens de la Fédération de Russie visitant l'île à des fins touristiques, un visa n'est pas requis. Toutefois, le séjour dans le Commonwe alth ne doit pas dépasser vingt et un jours.

Îles dans les Caraïbes

Plages

Détendez-vous sur du sable noir baigné par des eaux azur - n'est-ce pas un conte de fées ? Si vous êtes un nageur peu sûr, choisissez la côte ouest de l'île. Mais même à l'est, il y a des zones où les hautes vagues de l'océan Atlantique ne traversent pas le récif. Ce sont des plages de sable au sud de Kalibishi. En général, la République de la Dominique offre aux touristes un large choix de beaux endroits pour se baigner. Au sud de l'île se trouve "Champagne Beach". C'est caillouteux, mais ce n'est pas le sujet. Des sources chaudes émergent en eau peu profonde. Des bulles d'air ont donné son nom à la zone de loisirs. Pour la plongée en apnée, c'est un endroit idéal, car il y a un récif de corail à proximité. Et les amateurs de loisirs amusants et bruyants sur l'eauplage appropriée "Purple Turtle" (Purple Turtle) sur la côte nord. Coconut Beach, Mero et Napiers ne sont pas moins populaires.

îles des caraïbes

Attractions

L'île de la Dominique a tout pour surprendre un touriste. Le numéro un sur la liste des incontournables est Boiling Lake. Comme son nom l'indique, l'eau qui s'y trouve bout en raison de la disparition de l'activité volcanique. Le lac classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO est situé dans le parc national de Morne Trois Pitons. Les chefs-d'œuvre créés par la nature elle-même sont les cascades de Pain, Brandi, Sari-Sari. Dans la capitale de l'État, Roseau, vous devriez voir Fort Shirley et le Vieux Marché, où les esclaves étaient autrefois vendus. L'Escalier Tete Shin figure également sur la liste des attractions.

monnaie de la dominique

Lorsqu'un volcan est entré en éruption il y a des milliers d'années, un vaste champ de lave pétrifiée s'est formé. Ce paysage lunaire est considéré comme sacré par les locaux et de nombreuses légendes lui sont associées. Il vaut la peine de rester sur cette île des Caraïbes pendant au moins quelques jours pour comprendre pourquoi la Dominique est classée quatrième pays le plus heureux du monde (selon la New Economic Foundation).

Sujet populaire

Dominica Island. Commonwe alth of Dominica

Table of contents:

Dominica Island. Commonwe alth of Dominica
Dominica Island. Commonwe alth of Dominica
Anonim

Dominica is associated with a kind of geographical confusion. Many take it for the Caribbean republic of the same name. Our article aims to clarify this issue. All three political and geographical objects are located in the Caribbean Sea. But that's where the similarity ends. The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern part of the rather large island of Haiti. It is located in the Greater Antilles archipelago. But the Commonwe alth of Dominica occupies a whole, albeit small, island. This is a completely different state, with its own government, currency and history. Geographically, Dominica belongs to the Lesser Antilles group in the Caribbean. In terms of population and modest territory, the country is considered a dwarf state. The tourism sector of the economy in it is only gaining momentum and so far lags far behind the promoted Dominican Republic. But the Commonwe alth has a great future. The country is often referred to as the "Nature Island of the Caribbean", hinting at the pristine nature of the scenery.

dominica island

Geography

Dominica is barely visible on the world map. Its area is only 754square kilometers. Let's try to find it on the map. The Lesser Antilles (also called the Windward) Islands stretch in a narrow strip from north to south, outlining the eastern borders of the Caribbean Sea in an arc. This archipelago includes many dwarf states, such as Saint Martin (Saint Martin), Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada. Dominica is located approximately in the center of this cluster of islands. It borders Guadeloupe in the northwest and Martinique in the southeast. The Lesser Antilles are formed by volcanic activity. Of these, Dominica is the youngest. But there are no active volcanoes on the island. Only hot springs and geysers indicate that the bowels have not yet calmed down. The highest point is the extinct volcano Diabloten (1447 meters above sea level). This mountainous island hosts the world's second largest ever-boiling lake.

Dominica island on the map

Climate

Dominica Island is located at about fifteen degrees north latitude. And because the climate there is humid, tropical. The air temperature here fluctuates throughout the year in the range of +25 … + 27 degrees. In the west of the island, near the sea, there are relatively dry areas. But in most of Dominica it often rains. There are two distinct seasons. From November to March, the weather is excellent. Showers, if they do, are short-lived, and precipitation falls at night. Then it's tourist season on the island. But from July to September it is better to refrain from traveling to Dominica. The island is currently in the zonehurricane action. Not later than in August 2015, the terrible typhoon Erica hit Dominica, throwing the country back twenty years in its development. The nature of the island is amazingly beautiful. The mountainous area is covered with lush jungle. Near the sea, there are beaches with golden or black volcanic sand. The rainforests are home to many plant and animal species not found anywhere else in the world. The water area off the coast of Dominica is teeming with living creatures. Therefore, the island is attractive for its sea fishing.

History of dominica

History of Dominica

When Christopher Columbus discovered this island to the world, it was the third of November 1493, Sunday. Therefore, the great navigator named the land area according to the day of the week (from the Latin word Dominicus). After that, the island of Dominica was forgotten by Europeans for more than a hundred years. In 1635, France laid claim to this territory. But twenty-five years later, the island was left at the disposal of the Carib Indians. But the French influence remained. Under the terms of the Paris Peace, signed in 1763, the island was ceded to Great Britain. The population sympathized with the French, and in 1778 they tried to return this colony back. But in 1805 Dominica officially became part of the British heritage. Slavery was abolished in all the colonies of the United Kingdom in 1834. Since the island was forcibly settled by immigrants from Africa, Dominica became the first territory where a Negroid majority was represented in the government. From 1958-1962, the island was part of the Federation of the West Indies. HowThe independent state of Dominica appeared on the political map of the world on November 3, 1978. This day is celebrated as a national holiday.

republic of dominica

Modern political structure and state symbols

The form of government is a parliamentary republic. Dominica is governed by a President, who is elected by Parliament, and a Prime Minister. Currently, these are Charles Savarin and Roosevelt Skerrit. Dominica's anthem begins with the words "Island of Beauty and Splendor". The motto of the state is the phrase in Patois: "After God, we love the Earth." The Commonwe alth of Dominica has a very beautiful flag. On a green field (the color of the jungle) is a Sisseru parrot. This bird, also called the imperial amazon, lives only on the island of Dominica and nowhere else. This endemic also adorns the coat of arms of the parliamentary republic called Dominica. The country's currency is the East Caribbean dollar. It is quoted in relation to the American approximately as one to two and a half. The country is administratively divided into parishes. All of them bear the names of saints (which reflects the great authority of the Roman Catholic Church on the island). There are ten parishes in total: David, Andrew, George, John, Joseph, Mark, Luke, Paul, Patrick and Peter.

caribbean island dominica

Population

The island of Dominica is home to 73,607 people - the vast majority are distant descendants of Africans. Aborigines - Indians-Caribs - make up less than three percent of the total population. There are even fewer white Europeans - 0.8%. State of Dominica -urban. About seventy percent of the population lives in cities. Although the well-being of the country largely depends on the success of agriculture. The capital of the country is Roseau. This is not a metropolis at all, although it is the largest city on the island. Its population is only eighteen thousand people. People on the island mostly live long: 80 years - women, 74 years - men. The population density is 94 people per square kilometer. English is recognized as the official state language. In the countryside, people speak Patois. It is a local dialect based on the French language.

State of dominica

Culture

The Caribbean island of Dominica is an ethnic cauldron in which representatives of various ethnic groups coexist. Although, when the Europeans arrived on these shores, only two tribes lived there - the Kalinago and the Arawaks. Now the population is very diverse, and this affects the local culture. Dance and music - not a single more or less significant event in the country can do without them. That is why Dominica has become the stage for many festivals. So, since 1997, a week of Creole music has been held here every year. Also, a tourist who has visited this island simply needs to try the dishes of the local cuisine. It is mainly meat (usually poultry, but may also be lamb or beef) with a very spicy sauce. For dessert, mixes made from fruits are served.

caribbean island dominica

Tourism

The backbone of the economy of the Dominican Commonwe alth is the cultivation of bananas,cocoa, coconut palms, tobacco, citrus fruits and mangoes. Tourism is the second important industry. It is gaining momentum every year. Melville Hall International Airport operates near the capital of Roseau. But bank cards are still accepted only in the capital and resorts on the west coast. Tourists visit the island mainly in winter. Mostly people are attracted by beautiful beaches with fine black sand and the azure Caribbean Sea. On the east side, the island of Dominica is washed by the waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Therefore, safers also come here. The nature here is amazingly beautiful. There are many exotic birds in the forests, waterfalls and crystal streams rush down from the mountains. The heat is softened by the constantly blowing northeast trade winds. For citizens of the Russian Federation visiting the island for the purpose of tourism, a visa is not required. However, the stay in the Commonwe alth must not exceed twenty-one days.

Islands in the Caribbean

Beaches

Relax on black sand washed by azure waters - isn't it a fairy tale? If you are an insecure swimmer, choose the west coast of the island. But even in the east there are areas where the high waves of the Atlantic Ocean do not make their way over the reef. These are sandy beaches south of Kalibishi. In general, the Republic of Dominica provides tourists with a wide selection of beautiful places for swimming. In the south of the island is "Champagne Beach". It's pebbly, but that's not the point. Hot springs emerge in shallow water. Air bubbles gave the name to the recreation area. For snorkeling, this is a great place, as there is a coral reef nearby. And lovers of noisy fun recreation on the watersuitable beach "Purple Turtle" (Purple Turtle) on the north coast. No less popular are Coconut Beach, Mero and Napiers.

islands in the caribbean

Attractions

Dominica Island has everything to surprise a tourist. Number one on the must see list is Boiling Lake. As the name implies, the water in it boils due to fading volcanic activity. The UNESCO-listed lake is located in the Morne Trois Pitons National Park. Masterpieces created by nature itself are the waterfalls of Pain, Brandi, Sari-Sari. In the capital of the state, Roseau, you should see Fort Shirley and the Old Market, where slaves were once sold. Also on the list of attractions is L'Escalier Tete Shin.

dominica currency

When a volcano erupted thousands of years ago, a vast field of petrified lava was formed. This lunar landscape is considered sacred by the locals and many legends are associated with it. It is worth staying on this Caribbean island for at least a couple of days to understand why Dominica is ranked the fourth happiest country in the world (according to the New Economic Foundation).

Popular topic