Table of contents:
Kropotkinskaya metro station is one of the oldest in the Moscow metro. It was opened in 1935. The pavilions of the capital's subway, built in the pre-war period, resemble a museum. At such stations you can see sculptures, various decorative elements. They are real works of architectural art and, along with historical monuments located on the surface of the city, are part of the cultural heritage of the Soviet people. The Kropotkinskaya metro station was created according to the project, which was noted at exhibitions in Brussels and Paris.
The Kropotkinskaya metro station was designed in the Stalinist Empire style, which is characterized by monumentality, elements of baroque and late classicism. Greatness is given by lamps located in the capitals of high columns. But over its long history, the Kropotkinskaya metro station, of course, has somewhat changed its appearance. First, the walls were decorated with faiencetile. Then the Ural marble replaced it. The floor of the pavilion is now covered with red and gray granite slabs. But until the end of the 50s, the flooring was asph alt. "Kropotkinskaya" refers to shallow stations (only 13 meters from the surface).
Changed not only the appearance, but also the name of the metro station "Kropotkinskaya". How many exits are there? Two. And one of them goes to the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. In 1931, the old building was demolished, and in its place, according to the plan of the atheist city governors, the construction of the Palace of Soviets was to begin. This building could become a grandiose monument of the Soviet era. But that did not happen. The war has begun. And the Kropotkinskaya station was called the "Palace of Soviets" for more than ten years in honor of the building that Muscovites were not destined to see.
After the war, for many years, a pit could be seen near this station. For a number of reasons, it was decided not to resume the construction of the "Palace of Soviets". But what to do with the pit? In its place, a swimming pool was built, which became the largest in Moscow. It existed until 1994. So it was called - "Moscow".
The pool was open even in winter. The water temperature was maintained by means of artificial heating. It's easy to imagine what vapors hovered over the pool, especially during the winter months. This was especially dissatisfied with the workers of the Pushkin Museum,which will be discussed below. And in the early nineties, when true believers replaced atheists in power, they decided to remove the pool and build a temple in its place.
This cultural and historical complex includes five buildings. The museum was opened more than a hundred years ago on the initiative of art historian Ivan Tsvetaev.
The museum's collection includes works from antiquity to the 20th century. The museum is especially proud of the works of French expressionists. Among the paintings of painters of the twentieth century - the work of Renoir, Monet, Degas, Van Gogh. Most of these works were confiscated from we althy merchants Morozov and Shchukin in the 1920s.
Next to what other attractions is the metro station "Kropotkinskaya"? A photo of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior is presented below. It is worth briefly telling the history of this building and the structure, which was once located on the site of the outdoor swimming pool "Moscow".
It was opened in memory of the Russian soldiers who died in 1812. Construction was completed fifty years after the end of World War II. Coronations and other solemn events have been held in this temple for fifty years. With the advent of the new government, the temple was closed and then blown up. Further history is outlined above. One has only to add that the construction of the new temple was completed in 2002, and today it is one of the main attractions located in the vicinity of the Kropotkinskaya station.